Ruth O’Keeffe

Party: Independent
Ward: Priory

Contact details

12 Dorset Road

My politics  I have always been interested in empowering local people, so that they can make a difference and influence decisions themselves.

I will campaign on environmental issues, especially the upkeep and maintenance of Lewes and the town’s services. I also examine specific issues such as traffic, parking, floods and housing

More about me

I was first elected as a Town Councillor for Priory Ward in 1999 and have lived in East Sussex since 1987. I am a teacher by profession, and have also worked as an administrator at a special school, raising money for equipment and resources for the children. I am currently working as a Councillor at two levels, District and Town, and also served as a County Councillor for many years until 2021.

But how did I get here?

In 1998, I was a parent governor at a local Lewes primary school. A colleague from the Town Council asked if I’d ever considered standing in the local elections, so that sparked my interest.

I decided to stand as a councillor as I wanted to make a positive difference to the local community, by solving constituents’ problems, and perhaps maintaining existing coherent policies and influencing new ones that could help them further.

 My community

 I am really interested in the people who live in my community. It is important to spend time finding out about what is happening in the local community by talking and listening to local residents. Keeping a detailed diry and a small notebook to write down everyone’s requests and queries is vital.

I enjoy being able to help people sort issues out by providing them with the information they require, making sure that their views are heard, and that the Council and relevant officers are fully aware of local feeling. Particular concerns include traffic, parking, access to services, flooding and approaching local government.

Securing funding and encouraging different groups to work together on community projects has been particularly enjoyable. 

My home life

I have lived in Lewes since 1987 and have four children and two grandchildren.

My spare time

 I like reading, walking, gardening, knitting, sewing and take an interest in environmental issues.