Lewes Town Councillors

Your representatives

The Council comprises eighteen elected members – six representing each of three electoral wards (Bridge, Castle, and Priory), and it employs fourteen staff (8 full-time). This will change in 2019, due to a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission, when a fourth Ward will be introduced – Lewes Central – although there will still be 18 seats in total. Council meets approximately every five weeks and often creates working-parties for large projects or short tasks. These can co-opt additional members from the community.

Annabella Ashby

Castle WardGreen
07814 198807
Annabella.ashby@greenparty.org.uk
I have worked in local government in professional and managerial positions and for 10 years in the Improvement and Development Agency, a central advisory agency for local government in England & Wales. The Green Party’s philosophy which views social, economic and environmental issues as a whole and connective system rather than separate parts, runs to the heart of a way of thinking that I share and which I believe will bring benefit to all.



Janet Baah (Mayor)

Bridge WardLib Dem
07709 968337
Janetbaah68@gmail.com
Awaiting bio from Janet Baah


Adam Barker

Priory WardIndependent Green
07884 312232
Adam.barker@local.gov.uk
I have been employed in the public sector all my working life and believe that high quality public services which are accesible to all are fundamental to a sustainable and fair society. As a father of three, I am keen to create opportunities for young people to work and live in the town, ensuring Lewes retains its unique culture and remains a vibrant and diverse community.



Richard Burrows

Bridge WardLib Dem
01273 480423
Allburrows@sky.com
Awaiting bio from Richard Burrows


Catlin

Priory WardIndependent
01273 476869
councillor.catlin@hotmail.co.uk
Awaiting bio from Catlin


Michael Chartier

Castle WardLib Dem
01273 472019
michael.chartier@lewes.gov.uk
Awaiting bio from Michael Chartier


Will Elliot

Bridge WardLib Dem
01273 487799
will.elliott@lewes.gov.uk
Awaiting bio from Will Elliot


Huw Jones

Castle WardIndependent
01273 473797
huw@elephantandcastlelewes.co.uk
Awaiting bio from Huw Jones


John Lamb

Bridge WardLib Dem
01273 473886
John.lamb@abilitymagazine.org.uk
Awaiting bio from John Lamb


Imogen Makepeace

Priory WardGreen
07831 106777
Imogen.makepeace@greenparty.org.uk
There are so many things we could improve in Lewes, like truly affordable housing, parking, employment conditions, childcare provision and access to a GP. Big changes are coming to the town; in North Street, Harvey's Depot, the Magistrate's Court. There is a sense of frustration with old-style politics and a vision of something better. I see that it is possible to make a difference and I have the energy and commitment to create change.



Graham Mayhew

Priory WardIndependent
01273 472594
Graham.mayhew@btopenworld.com
Awaiting bio from Graham Mayhew


Merlin Milner

Bridge WardLib Dem
07981 528960
Merlin.milner@btinternet.com
Awaiting bio from Merlin Milner


Roger Murray

Castle WardIndependent Green
01273 473912
CouncillorRoger@gmail.com
I have been proud to serve as a Lewes Town Councillor representing Castle ward for the last four years and am delighted to be able to continue representing Lewes residents at council and responding to the needs of our community.



Susan Murray

Castle WardIndependent Green
01273 473912
Susanmurray221@gmail.com
I have been a Lewes town councillor for the past eight years and it has been an honour to represent both the party and my constituents. I will use the experience I have gained to the work of the district council. I believe that only the Green Party combines a commitment to environmental sustainability and social justice and that this ethos will bring a sorely needed new perspective to the work of the district council.



Ruth O’Keeffe

Priory WardIndependent
07941 151989
Roklewes@gmail.com
Awaiting bio from Ruth O’Keeffe


Chelsea Renton

Bridge WardGreen
07818 064456
chelsea.renton@btinternet.com
Elected 7th December 2017 in a by-election.



Tony Rowell

Priory WardGreen
07740 163590
tony.rowell@greenparty.org.uk
Activism and pressure groups have a vital role to play in democratising society but we also need councillors with enough influence to champion progressive policies that are fair and consider the environment. The UK has become more unequal over the past 30 years due to the major parties embracing neo-liberalism and individualism. I will articulate an alternative message in council and beyond which challenges the status quo and provides a voice that promotes the ‘common good’ which means a more equal, just, tolerant, and fair society for the future.



Esther Watts

Castle WardGreen
07809 332387
Esther.watts@greenparty.org.uk

I am a former teacher and currently work for the Alzheimer’s Society, my work for which involves getting disparate groups to move towards a common goal.

My experience will help in listening to the public, working on local policy and helping achieve consensus to drive change.




Find Us

Lewes Town Council
Town Hall
Lewes
East Sussex BN7 2QS
Tel: 01273 471469

Hours
Mon – Thu: 9am – 5pm
Fri: 9am – 4pm

Join our mailing list

Share This